Wednesday, 26 November.

Eating in Asia is a great experience, and I am finally able to enjoy some of the cuisine that Taiwan has to offer. Mommy & I are still on a dairy-free, soy-free diet because of allergies, but otherwise I have enjoyed pretty much the same foods my parents eat. No more eating only commercially-prepared stage two baby food like the last time I was here! We typically eat a Taiwanese breakfast that Daddy gets a block away from our condo. For lunch, we eat out on the town, and then in the evening we head to Tai yeh-yeh’s home for dinner. I admit that we’ve also been snacking – there are just so many cafés and beverage stalls in town that one can’t help but enjoy sampling those as well.

food1

food2

food3

food5

food4

Top: A huge variety of beverages are sold at stalls throughout the city, including fruit juices and fruit and milk teas. As a master straw sucker, I am seen here with Mommy enjoying a sweet and sour drink made from preserved plums. 2nd: Steamed vegetarian dumplings served as a restaurant specializing in entrees with a unique tea flavor or made from tea leaves. 3rd: The Taiwanese version of shaved ice, halo-halo, ice kacang, or whatever else you want to call it, packed with green and red beans, boiled peanuts and black jelly. The ice is packed below. 4th: How can you travel to Taiwan and not use chopsticks? Taking a mouthful of white turnip cake, a traditional Chinese breakfast and dim sum dish. Bottom: I am stuffing myself with food at Tai yeh-yeh’s home, with entrees that we bought from the Nan Men (South Gate) market.